Freestanding single-bay three-stage conical windmill, extant 1840, on a circular plan. In use, 1902. Disused, 1925. Now in ruins. Roof now missing. Creeper- or ivy-covered fine roughcast walls over semi-coursed random rubble stone construction. Square-headed opposing door openings including one square-headed door opening below overgrown date stone ("????") with timber lintels supporting rubble stone (schist) voussoirs forming camber relieving arches, and no fittings surviving. Interior in ruins retaining timber beams to internal floors. Set in own grounds with unkempt grounds to site [OS].APPRAISAL:The shell of a windmill representing an interesting component of the industrial architectural legacy of south County Wexford with an elegantly tapered silhouette indicating a late eighteenth- or early nineteenth-century period of construction. Although having deteriorated into ruins following a prolonged period of inactivity, the elementary form and massing largely prevail, thereby upholding much of the character of a tower making a pleasing visual statement as a picturesque eye-catcher in a pastoral setting.
|Collection||National Inventory of Architectural Heritage|
|Timespan||Eighteenth Century, Nineteenth Century|
(Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government. All Rights Reserved.)
|Subject Terms||mill (wind)|
|Provider||Irish Manuscripts Commission|